

29th Annual Meeting of the Tennessee Herpetological Society 28-29 September 2023 Discovery Park of America, Union City, TN

Business Meeting Notes

Recorded by Julia Thulander

Award Recipients

Congratulations to the 2023 recipient of the Chad Lewis Memorial Grant: **Kalin Ferguson** of Virginia Tech for work on *The Influence of Seasonal Precipitation on Nest Site Fidelity and Annual Population Fluctuations of Four-toed Salamanders (Hemidactylium scutatum).*

Two students received the Niemiller Travel Award this year: **Jared (JT) Thompson** of Tennessee Tech and **Sara Brewer** of Asbury University in Kentucky.

The award for best student poster was given to **Sara Brewer** of Asbury University for presenting her work of *An improved assay for eDNA detection of fourtoed salamanders* (Hemidactylium scutatum): significance of mitochondrial genome region in primer development.

The award for best student oral presentation was given to **Jocelyn B. Stalker** of Austin Peay State University for presenting her work entitled: *Livin' la vida local: philopatry results in consistent patterns of annual space use in a long-lived lizard.*

Awards Committee Report

Danny Bryan informed the society of his plans to leave the Chadwick Lewis Memorial Grant Committee. Vice President, Stephen Nelson, suggests that grant notifications be sent out earlier to allow for awardees attendance to be determined sooner.

Publication Committee

Herpetological Society Journal received few submissions in 2023, continuing an ongoing trend. Joshua Hall suggests it continues to be published as it serves as a society record. Both Joshua Hall and Matt Grisnik agree to continue serving as co-editors.

Outreach and Social Media Committee

Please follow and interact with us on the Tennessee Herp Society accounts on Facebook, Instagram (@tnherpsociety), and Twitter (@TennesseeHerper).

Treasurer's Report

As of the meeting date, the balance in the checking account was \$9,421.54 and the investment balance was \$26,264.88.

New Business

Michael Fullbright was nominated and approved as the new academic representative on the Chadwick Lewis Memorial Grant Committee.

The Middle TN Representative position was filled with a special 1-year term. Michael Fullbright was nominated and approved as the new Middle TN Representative.

Elections

President: Lee Barton Secretary: Julia Thulander

West TN Representative: Bryan Butterfield

Sargent at Arms: Darrel England

Next Annual Meeting

2024 will see the 30th anniversary of the Annual Meeting of the Tennessee Herpetological Society. Look to the society website for updates concerning the dates and location of the next meeting.